Joint Session 55 High-Performance Computing for Numerical Weather Prediction. Part I

Wednesday, 15 January 2020: 3:00 PM-4:00 PM
212 (Boston Convention and Exhibition Center)
Hosts: (Joint between the Sixth Symposium on High Performance Computing for Weather, Water, and Climate; and the 30th Conference on Weather Analysis and Forecasting (WAF)/26th Conference on Numerical Weather Prediction (NWP) )
Timothy S. Sliwinski, Group NIRE, Lubbock, TX; Kandis Boyd, OAR, Office of Weather and Air Quality, Silver Spring, MD and Ryan A. Lagerquist, CIMMS, Meteorology, Norman, OK

This will be a joint session between the 6th Symposium on High-performance Computing for Weather, Water, and Climate (6HPC) and the 26th Conference on Numerical Weather Prediction (26NWP). This session will explore the use of high-performance computing to develop, run, enhance the performance of, and post-process output from numerical weather models such as WRF, convection-allowing models, convection-allowing ensembles, etc. Abstract topics may include (but are not limited to) improving computational efficiency, improving scalability, preparing for exascale computing, and optimizing numerical weather models to benefit from the use of specialized hardware in HPC environments, such as graphical processing units (GPUs).

3:00 PM
HPC Limitations in Running Global Cloud-Resolving Weather Prediction Models
Mark W. Govett, NOAA/ESRL Global Systems Division, Boulder, CO
3:15 PM
Improving the Performance and Scalability of the Colorado Fire Prediction System (CO-FPS) Using Dynamic Cloud Resources
James Cowie, NCAR, Boulder, CO; and W. Petzke, J. Boehnert, D. Brucker, N. Chartier, and J. Knievel
3:30 PM
Computational Resources Optimization in the NCEP Coupled Atmospheric Wave–Chemistry Global Ensemble Forecast System
Dingchen Hou, NOAA/NWS/NCEP/EMC, College Park, MD; and X. Xue, W. Kolczynski Jr., B. Fu, Y. Zhu, J. H. Alves, J. Meixner, L. Pan, and J. Kain
3:45 PM
New Capabilities in FV3GFS Write Grid Component
Jun Wang, NOAA/NWS/NCEP/EMC, College Park, MD; and D. Jovic, B. Liu, W. Meng, H. Y. Chuang, J. J. Levit, and A. Chawla

- Indicates paper has been withdrawn from meeting
- Indicates an Award Winner