Session 18 Regional Scale Air Quality -Part III

Thursday, 26 January 2017: 3:30 PM-5:00 PM
4C-3 (Washington State Convention Center )
Host: 19th Conference on Atmospheric Chemistry
Jeffrey L. Collett Jr., Colorado State Univ., Atmospheric Science Department, Fort Collins, CO and Shaocai Yu, Zhejiang Univ., Key Laboratory of Environmental Remediation and Ecological Health, Ministry of Education, Zhejiang

Variations in meteorology and climate couple with a range of source types and source activity levels to yield a wide range of regional scale air quality challenges around the globe. This session solicits reports from both observational and modeling perspectives on air pollution in different regions within North America and around the globe. Presentations focusing on improving air quality and air quality challenges are both welcome. Relevant air quality issues include, but are not limited to, ozone, fine particles, smoke from wild and prescribed fires, visibility and regional haze, and reactive nitrogen deposition.

3:30 PM
National Air Quality Forecast Capability: Predictions of Fine Particulate Matter
Ivanka Stajner, NOAA/NWS, Silver Spring, MD; and J. McQueen, P. Lee, A. F. Stein, S. Upadhayay, and P. Dickerson
4:00 PM
Aircraft-Based Measurements and Modeling of Submicron Aerosols over Northeastern U.S. during the WINTER 2015 Campaign
Viral Shah, Univ. of Washington, Seattle, WA; and L. Jaeglé, J. C. Schroder, P. Campuzano-Jost, J. L. Jimenez, H. Guo, A. P. Sullivan, R. Weber, J. E. Dibb, J. Green, M. N. Fiddler, S. Bililign, F. D. Lopez-Hilfiker, B. H. Lee, and J. A. Thornton
4:15 PM
Aged Wildfire Smoke and Summertime Photochemistry in the Northern Colorado Front Range
Jakob Lindaas, Colorado State Univ., Fort Collins, CO; and E. V. Fischer, D. K. Farmer, I. Pollack, A. Abeleira, J. Zaragoza, F. Flocke, J. R. Roscioli, and S. C. Herndon
4:30 PM
A Weather Driven Wildfire Emission Forecasting System and Its Impacts on Air Quality Prediction
Vikram Ravi, Washington State Univ., Pullman, WA; and S. H. Chung, J. Vaughan, A. Kochanski, M. A. Jenkins, F. H. Thorpe, M. Kadlec, S. M. O'Neill, and B. K. Lamb
- Indicates paper has been withdrawn from meeting
- Indicates an Award Winner