Poster Session 20 Convection

Thursday, 19 April 2018: 3:30 PM-5:30 PM
Champions DEFGH (Sawgrass Marriott)
Host: 33rd Conference on Hurricanes and Tropical Meteorology

Convection posters

Lightning Correlation with Environmental Variables Using the TRMM LIS
Montana Etten-Bohm, Texas A&M Univ., College Station, TX; and C. Schumacher

Handout (3.7 MB)

HAMSR Observations during CPEX
Bjorn H. Lambrigtsen, JPL/California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA; and M. Schreier and S. T. Brown

CPEX 2017: Utilizing NASA’s Airborne Doppler Aerosol WiNd (DAWN) Lidar and Dropsondes for Convective Process Studies
G. D. Emmitt, Simpson Weather Associates, Charlottesville, VA; and M. Garstang, S. Greco, Z. Pu, S. S. Chen, and E. Zipser

Joint Analysis of APR-2 Precipitation Vertical Structure and DAWN Vertical Wind Profiles during CPEX
F. Joseph Turk, JPL, Pasadena, CA; and S. Hristova-Veleva, S. Tanelli, and S. L. Durden

Structure of an Atmospheric River over the Gulf of Mexico Observed during the NASA CPEX Campaign
Jose Martinez-Claros, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, Socorro, NM

Machine Tuning of Entrainment Rates in an Extended EDMF Scheme: Toward a Unified Parameterization of Shallow and Deep Convection
Yair Cohen, California Institue of Technology, Pasadena, CA; and S. Lan, C. M. Kaul, Z. Tan, K. G. Pressel, T. Schneider, and J. Teixeira

Role of the Orography in Observed Convective Precipitating Systems in the Northern Andes Ranges of Colombia
Sebastian Gomez, Univ. Nacional de Colombia, Medellin, Colombia; and M. D. Zuluaga and C. D. Hoyos

Sensitivity of Cloud Radiative Effects to Water Vapor Perturbations in Radiative-Convective Equilibrium
Tom Beucler, MIT, Cambridge, MA; and T. H. Abbott and T. W. Cronin

Characterizing the Degree of Convective Clustering Using Radar Reflectivity and Its Application to Evaluating Model Simulations
Daehyun Kim, Univ. of Washington, Seattle, WA; and W. Y. Cheng, A. K. Rowe, Y. Moon, and S. Park

- Indicates paper has been withdrawn from meeting
- Indicates an Award Winner