Session 6 Progress in Estimating Land Surface Evaporation

Tuesday, 25 January 2011: 3:30 PM-5:30 PM
611 (Washington State Convention Center)
Host: 25th Conference on Hydrology
Martha C. Anderson, USDA/ARS, Hrsl, Beltsville, MD and Christa D. Peters-Lidard, NASA/GSFC, Hydrological Sciences Lagoratory, Washington, DC

3:30 PM
The LandFlux-EVAL Initiative [INVITED]
Sonia I. Seneviratne, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland; and C. Jimenez, B. Mueller, C. Kummerow, M. McCabe, W. B. Rossow, G. Balsamo, P. Ciais, P. A. Dirmeyer, J. B. Fisher, R. H. Reichle, M. Reichstein, M. Rodell, K. Wang, and E. F. Wood

3:45 PM
Analysis of multi-year global evapotranspiration datasets and IPCC AR4 model simulations
Brigitte Mueller, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland; and S. I. Seneviratne and C. Jimenez
4:00 PM
An observational and reanalysis study of the water budget in the Amazon basin
Janice L. Bytheway, Science and Technology Corporation, Laporte, CO; and C. D. Kummerow
4:15 PM
Land Surface Evaporation from Reanalysis and Modeling
Xubin Zeng, Univ. of Arizona, Tucson, AZ; and M. Decker, K. Sakaguchi, Z. Wang, and M. Brunke
4:30 PM
Developing a dual assimilation approach for thermal infrared and passive microwave soil moisture retrievals [INVITED]
Christopher Hain, Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center, University of Maryland, Camp Springs, MD; and W. T. Crow, M. C. Anderson, and J. R. Mecikalski
4:45 PM
Temperature-driven PET projections
Laura S. Harrison, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, CA; and E. Tarnavsky, C. C. Funk, J. Michaelsen, M. Brown, and M. T. Marshall
5:00 PM
Improvements and Evaluations of the MODIS Global Evapotranspiration Algorithm
Qiaozhen Mu, University of Montana, Missoula, MT; and M. Zhao and S. W. Running
5:15 PM
Estimating irrigation use and improving water resources management using energy balance (METRIC) estimates of evapotranspiration
Timothy C. Martin, Riverside Technology, Inc., Fort Collins, CO; and R. Allen, J. Kjaersgaard, and A. Nevo
- Indicates paper has been withdrawn from meeting
- Indicates an Award Winner